Love.

What is it?

But before we get to that, let me be totally transparent here. 

I am an American. 

For those readers who aren’t American, please don’t hold my citizenship of birth against me. Just kidding 😁.

But really. My country’s government has done some pretty shady things in the last, I don’t know…couple of centuries.

That being said, the reason I point out my place of birth is for perspective. I have grown up in a society that has completely, and totally, outside the realm of comprehension, just ridiculously and mind blowingly, exaggerated the concept of love. At least the concept of real love.

Now, in the aforementioned spirit of transparency, I would also like to say that I am a Christian.

Now, let’s define the word Christian.  

I do not mean I’m Catholic. I do not mean I belong to a specific denomination. And I do not mean I am a Christian because I walked down the aisle when I was 5 years old and said the sinner’s prayer. 

I mean the actual biblical definition of Christian. 

I believe that Yeshua Ha Mashiach, (Jesus Christ) was the Son of God. I believe that he came in the flesh, died on the Cross for our sins, and then physically rose from the dead on the third day. And most importantly, I also believe that He is the only way to get to the Father and be given eternal life in the resurrection of the dead.

Because I believe this to be true, I have chosen to put my faith in Him by devoting my whole life to loving Him and walking in his ways.

Now I know that a lot of people who claim to be Christian would say that they believe the exact same thing.

Well, there are a couple of requirements for that belief to be true.

First, according to scripture, you will know a tree by it’s fruit. So, if you say you are a Christian, yet have no fruits of the spirit in your life, then you are not actually a believer.

Second, in order for you to actually be a Christian by the Biblical definition, you would have to know what all of the words in those requirements mean.

And that is where love comes in.

If you were to walk up to someone who claims to be a Christian, and ask them if they loved Jesus, they would of course say yes. But then, if you asked them to tell you what love means, they would probably give you the definition according to the culture they have been raised in, and not the actual biblical definition. 

So what does our culture say love is. Well, according to all the movies that come out of Hollywood, love is the warm fuzzies you feel when you are with a certain person. 

Well that makes sense. 

But don’t those warm fuzzies go away sometimes?

Yes, they do. That is why we have a 50% divorce rate. 

Well that’s no good.

By that definition, if God is love, then that means he is fickle, sometimes hot, sometimes cold. It all depends on how He feels. 

I’ll be honest, that thought terrifies me. That is not my God. 

Well wait a minute. Then that means we don’t actually understand the Biblical concept of love. 

According to scripture, loving God is obedience to His Word, His Torah. How you feel is not really important. That is a tough pill to swallow  in our modern society, where we are taught that our sole purpose in life is to find happiness.

Man has asked the question since the dawn of time, “What is the meaning of life?”

For thousands of years, scholars, theologians, politicians, and philosophers have pondered this question. And each one, when finally producing an answer, find that answer lacking. 

Why?

The answer is quite simple. We are asking from the wrong perspective. We are asking for the meaning of life from the perspective of ourself. But we didn’t create anything. We must see it from His perspective. Why did He create all that is, and what is our purpose? The answer?

To bring Him Glory. 

Thisnis a concept that is difficult for us in the modern world to grasp. Especially here in America. Even the founding fathers apparently didn’t quite grasp the purpose in our existence. According to our Declaration of Independence, every man has a God given right to the pursuit of happiness. But do we really?

I know, I know. There are going to be many of you that will quote the scripture about how God will grant us the desires of our heart. But unfortunately, that defense for our right to have what we want falls flat. If you actually read that verse in context, it is referring to a man who has a heart for the Creator, and thus desires the same things as the Creator. 

In fact, in all of scripture, there is not a single place where it says that we have the right to be happy. 

Now, that being said, I dont mean that Yahweh is a big meany, and doesn’t want us to be happy. Just like any father, He loves seeing His children happy. But more importantly, He wants what is best for us. Any believer who has a real relationship with the Father will tell you that there is no greater joy than glorifying our God. It is what we were made for. That is our purpose. 

So I challenge each of you to try and go one whole day without going out of your way to be entirely self serving. Instead, spend that day thinking of ways you can glorify Him. 

