Alright. Where to begin?

10 to 15 years ago, if a family suddenly made a bunch of drastic  lifestyle changes, most of their friends and family wouldn’t have really noticed except for those closest to them. Nowadays, with the advent of social media, it is next to impossible to change anything about your lifestyle without everyone and there momma noticing. 

Many times this lack of anonymity causes nothing but problems. But sometimes, the ease of which modern technology allows us to speak and communicate to each other, and access to knowledge is a real blessing. 

The town in which my family and I now live, is not the town we are originally from. We moved here about five years ago with only our oldest son. Since then the Lord has blessed us with two more sons and another baby on the way. We have made a home here. We began attending a local church where we were welcomed with open arms and treated like family. That made all the difference in the world. If it hadn’t been for the people at that church, this new town would have never become the home it is to us today. 

Growing up in a small town in East Texas meant that for the most part I went to church every Sunday. For the most part I attended a Southern Baptist Church. It taught the typical Bible believing protestant doctrine. Anybody growing up in the Bible belt heard the same sermons I did. We are all sinners. And sinners go to hell. That is why God sent His only son to die on the cross for our sins, and if you don’t want to go to hell, then you need to come down front, say a two minute prayer admitting you’re a sinner, ask God’s forgiveness and for Jesus to come into your heart and save you. 

And BAM!!! Now you got your fire insurance. Once saved always saved. From that point on, it didn’t matter what sin you committed, it was attoned for. You were eternally golden. 

Every kid I knew groing up at some point did this. I was five when I did it. It was just the norm. So, you continue to go to church every Sunday. Suddenly you get a little older, and life starts kicking your butt. You start looking for answers. You start asking questions. And you always get the same response. 

According to scripture, you are supposed to have victory. But you sure don’t see victory. You look around at the people in your life who are supposed to be more spiritually mature, but they are having the same problems. So you look at other churches. Same exact story. Finally you start questioning your faith. Is this sounding familiar?

So I went on a journey. I tried a little bit of everything. I  explored the faiths of the far east, I checked out the new age movement, I even looked into the occult. The funny thing was, they all had one thing in common. They hated the Christian church. And to be honest, I really didn’t understand why they felt so threatened. As far as I could tell, all the christians I had known were just as messed up as everyone else. But if every other religion in the world was afraid of the message in the Bible, there must be something to it. And in my experience, the most threatening thing in the world is truth. So I decided to explore the Bible for myself. And what I mean by that, is that I wasnt going to stand on the theological shouders of some guy with a bunch of letters behind his name. I wasn’t going to let 2,000 years of church tradition make me look at scripture through tinted lenses. I was going to read it for myself. I wanted to learn about the men who wrote it, and what it meant to them. And I was going to take scripture and believe it in its entirety. I wasn’t going to cherry pick specific verses I liked, and throw out the rest. 

So that’s what I did, and it has completely changed my life and the life of my family. I am not going to take the time in this blog to get into the specifics of what I learned. If you want to know more, please please please contact me. I plan on using my blog to talk about the different things I have learned in more detail. 

Needless to say, my family no longer celebrate Christmas, Easter, Halloween, or many of the other holidays most of us grew up celebrating. We have our reasons for this which I would be happy and blessed to share with you if you would like to know. 

Just in case some were worried, we still firmly believe that Jesus is the son of God, and the only way to the Father. We also still believe that you are saved by faith and not works. So please don’t make assumptions about what we now believe without first asking. 

I will say this. That nagging feeling you have always gotten in church about how you feel like there must be more to knowing God than this, well, you’re right. There is a lot more to knowing God than what we have been taught, and much of what we have been taught is tradition, not truth. If you truly want to go deeper, then seek. Dont let your family, your friends, or even the pastor of your church talk you out of it. There are millions of believers, the Remnant of the Father, all over the world who are waking up and saying that its time to come out of Babylon. And personally, I cant wait to see what the Lord has in store. 

Anyone interested in some great resources and learning more, please contact me at judtmoore@gmail.com or pawnshopprophet@gmail.com.

